SNS for MAC?

Want to talk about SNS-HDR, or do you have suggestions, requests, or how-to questions? Post here!
Chcesz porozmawiać o SNS-HDR, masz sugestię, próśbę, lub jakieś pytania? Pisz tutaj!

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby GreenBean » Tue May 15, 2012 8:17 pm

Code: Select all
Does the virtual environment slow SNS down?

I am using Parallels 7 and Win Pro 7 on a Mac. I'm now getting about one SNS HDR per three minutes on a 5 or 7 stop bracket. Output was changed to reduce size X2, no align images, yes ghost and noise, TIFF16

Mac, 10.7.2, Dual core 2.66, 21GB 667mhz ram, 240GB Mercury Accelsior PCI Express SSD

Thanks for any suggestions...only 30k more NEF's to go   : D

GreenBean
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:12 pm

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby phil68 » Thu May 17, 2012 7:17 am

Well, as said, i am using VMWARE fusion to run SNS under MAC....3 minutes is normal for 7 brackets! :( , the big problem is the amout of RAM more than the delay!! :mrgreen:

I have a MAC mini, i7, 2,7GHz, 16Gb RAM, ATI RADEON 256Mb RAM

Phil
User avatar
phil68
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:08 pm
Location: Rustenhart, F

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby mrobinsonphoto » Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:56 pm

The majority of photographers I know including my self use macs, I think you are missing out on huge chunk of business with no mac version. I'm am just trying to test the software and am finding it very difficult to even get the program loading on Paralles.
mrobinsonphoto
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby mrobinsonphoto » Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:23 pm

I think you are missing a huge market by not having it available for Mac. Almost every photographer I know uses a mac, including me. I would buy a mac version. Does it work through bootcamp?

sorry for the double post, didn't see the first on go through.
mrobinsonphoto
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:41 pm

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby phil68 » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:28 am

Yes, you are right, SNS take about 30s to load under VMWare, but just works fine....
It is a pain , because the virtual memory allocated isn't enough! So mostly I only load an HDR in SNS and not the brackets to save time and nerves!! :D

Phil
User avatar
phil68
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:08 pm
Location: Rustenhart, F

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby BrandonRiza » Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:13 am

Has this thread totally died?
Just bought a new MacBook Pro (2.8ghz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAm), running Parallels 8 and Win 7 Ultimate.
A seven frame 23mp bracket takes 24 mins to process.
The same bracketed sequences takes under a minute in HDR Efex Pro 2, Photomatic and Expose.
Is running virtualized the cause?
Would running via bootcamp help?
Anybody else have any experience along these lines?

No other HDR tonemapping app comes close to the quality and interactivity of SNS-Pro, but 24 mins to proc 7 frames is debilitating.
Any newer plans for a port? It's been quite a while since the last post in this thread.

Thanks...
--
BRANDONRIZA | www.brandonriza.com
BrandonRiza
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:33 am

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby BrandonRiza » Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:31 am

Just thought I'd post an update for what it's worth...probably old news to those familiar with Macs, even though information online is not forthcoming.
(I'm a Mac noob...)

On my new 2.8Ghz i7 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3 750GB SS MacBookPro virtualizing Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit via Parallels 8,
I was timing 7 bracketed 23Mp frames from my Canon 5DMKIII in SNS from file-load to displayed image at around 21 minutes.
I bootcamped Win 7 and now it takes less than 1 minute.
A native Mac version of SNS would be much appreciated and I'd pay to support the port, but bootcamp is undeniably the way to go.
Forget Parallels.

Cheers...
--
BRANDONRIZA | www.brandonriza.com
BrandonRiza
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:33 am

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby phil68 » Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:56 am

Sorry BrandonRiza , I cannot confirm this...maybe because I have a macpro 5.1 with 16Gb RAM...
I am running the latest Mountain lion version and I use SNS under VMWARE fusion 5
For 7 brackets - 17Mp , I need max 5 minutes to process

There is obviously a difference between an embedded i7 and a XEON processor..... :oops:

Phil
User avatar
phil68
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:08 pm
Location: Rustenhart, F

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby ZPC2THLgate » Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:45 am

i can check if i also can't use them.




























_________________________________________________________
Thl Phone ThL W8 Beyond THL W9
Last edited by ZPC2THLgate on Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
ZPC2THLgate
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:05 am

Re: SNS for MAC?

Postby ZPC2THLgate » Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:58 am

Will be option for automatically reduce chromatic aberration




























_________________________________________________________
ZOPO ZOPO C2 ZOPO C3
ZPC2THLgate
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:05 am

PreviousNext

Return to Discussion & Questions / Dyskusja i pytania

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron